Zurich Portrait Prize 2018

6 October 2018–13 January 2019
Room 23 | Free admission

The fifth year of the Gallery's annual portrait prize competition showcasing contemporary portraiture, and we were delighted to welcome Zurich on board as sponsors. The competition attracts entries from across the island of Ireland, and from Irish artists living abroad. One artist receives a prize of €15,000 and a commission worth €5,000 to produce a new work for inclusion in the National Portrait Collection. Two additional prizes of €1,500 are awarded to highly commended works by the judging panel. The judges in 2018 were Tanya Kiang, Geraldine O’Neill, and Sue Rainsford. Mandy O'Neill was announced as the winner on 22 October 2018.

Scroll down to see the shortlisted works and the winners.

The shortlisted artists

Gillian Cullen (b. 1983), Healing, 2018. © Gillian Cullen. Photo © National Gallery of Ireland.

Gillian Cullen

See more

Robert Ellis (b. 1984), Herbert, 2017. © Robert Ellis.

Robert Ellis

See more

Thomas Jenner (b. 1972), Henry Peter Jenner With Bow and Arrows, 2018. © Thomas Jenner.

Thomas Jenner

See more

Fionn McCann (b. 1973), Cezanne’s Apple, 2018. © Fionn McCann.

Fionn McCann

See more

Will O'Kane (b. Mayo 1979), A.L., 2018. © Will O’Kane. Photo © National Gallery of Ireland.

Will O'Kane

See more

You might also like...

Edward A. McGuire (1932-1986), 'Portrait of Seamus Heaney (1939-2013), Poet', 1974. © National Gallery of Ireland.

National Portrait Collection

The origins of the National Portrait Collection date back to 1875. Over the years the collection has been developed with additions of many works depicting prominent Irish individuals who have contributed to the civic, social, and cultural life of the nation. The Portrait Prize, launched in 2014, has further contributed to the growth of this significant collection

Explore the portrait collection
G.B. Shaw (1856-1950)

"You use a glass mirror to see your face; you use works of art to see your soul."

Head of the statue of George Bernard Shaw. © National Gallery of Ireland.