Board of Governors & Guardians of the NGI

The Board comprises up to seventeen members, of which ten are appointed by the Minister for Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs, five are ex-officio holders of the offices listed below, and two are nominated and appointed by the Royal Hibernian Academy pursuant to a power bestowed on them in the 1854 Act. Members appointed by the Minister serve terms of five years. Ex-officio members serve terms of varying duration depending on the constitution of their organisation. 

Royal Hibernian Academy (RHA): President
Royal Dublin Society (RDS): President and Vice President
Royal Irish Academy (RIA): President 
Office of Public Works (OPW): Chairman

Current members:

Appointed by the Minister for Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs:

Mr Michael Cush SC [appointed 15 November 2016] - Chair
Ms Lynda Carroll  [appointed 15 November 2016]
Ms Margaret Glynn [appointed 2 July 2014]
Ms Jacqueline Hall [appointed 15 November 2016]
Mr Gary Jermyn  [appointed 15 November 2016]
Ms Mary Keane [appointed 2 July 2014]
Ms Suzanne Macdougald [appointed 26 June 2014]
Ms Ann Prendergast  [appointed 15 November 2016]
Ms Lesley Tully [appointed 15 November 2016]
Mr Barney Whelan [appointed 15 November 2016]

Nominated and Appointed by the RHA:

Mr Mick O’Dea PRHA [nominated 14 October 2014]
Mr Stephen McKenna PPRHA  [nominated 21 October 2015]
Ms Vivienne Roche RHA [nominated 21 October 2015]


Maurice Buckley, Chairman, OPW [nominated 12 December 2016]
Professor Peter Kennedy PRIA  [nominated 16 March 2017]
Ms Bernie Brennan, President, RDS [nominated 6 December 2013]
Professor Owen Lewis, Vice-President, RDS [nominated 1 December 2016]